Milo “I Wish My Brother Rob Was Here” {Album}

First of all, I must make a point to tell you how refreshing it is to receive a well-written email request for submission. A hi-resolution image, a brief (humble/objective) bio, and the youtube link and/or mp3 file for download. Milo, my newest favorite rapper at St. Norberts, sent me all three of those things. Hot damn, you would have thought it was Christmas morning.

The email started off somethin’ like this:

“I’m not sure what genre it falls under. Maybe Nerd Hop, or Art Rap. Hopefully under enjoyable music.”

With a sense of humor similar to Larry David, his eloquent email left me with no choice but to click on the bandcamp link. I have to admit that when I first started listening, I didn’t know what to think. His lyrics had me consulting Wikipedia for answers about every four bars. But as I listened more, I really began to respect his unique (s)(w)(a)(g)(g)(e)(r).

Here is an example of that style, a sentence he used to complete his press kit.
“This is rap stuff best played through headphones in library nooks, or on evenings when it seems too late to drink coffee but you do anyway.”
Ya, that explains it.

Here is the tape, my favorite track is One Lonely Owl (in case you were wondering). If you enjoy, follow him on Twitter or somethin’. I heard rappers like that sort of thing, makes ’em feel happy.

-Jake

About bescenempls

If you can, try and picture a place where there are no “dislike” buttons or negative Facebook comments; a spot where props are given where props are deserved. This is our inspiration for the “Be Scene” blog. Our intention is to spread love to the people doing big things, regardless of their affiliation to No Static Records. Be Scene will be updated (almost daily) with music that we think is worth listening to, from local to worldwide levels. It is not genre-bound and will showcase funkadelic features produced by all sorts of artists, from A(l Green) to Z(Z Top). Actually, there will be no ZZ Top but you get the point. So if you like tunes as fresh as the baby powder on Katt Williams' hand, we urge you to favorite this page.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment